Military History Bookshop

Quick Search

Title
Author
Description
Keyword
 
 
 
 

Mystery

Mystery

Click on Title to view full description

 
1 Ambler, Eric (Introduction) ; Egleton, Clive; Elizabeth Jenkins, Andrew Garve, Winston Graham, Ludovic Kennedy, Emilyn Williams, Russell Braddon, Julian Symons Great Cases of Scotland Yard
Readers Digest 1978 0895770539 / 9780895770530 First Edition Hardcover Very Good with no dust jacket 
[10], 690 paegs, illustrations (some in color) , cloth, very good. Selected By the Editors of Reader's Digest, Illustrated by Guy Deel, David Blossom, Rick McCollum. Includes The Stealing of Muriel McKay, Neill Cream, Poisoner, The Case of Stanley Setty, The Wembley Job, The Portland Spy Case, Doctor Crippen's Diary, The Shepherd's Bush Case, The Siege of Sidney Street. SR1336B ; 690 pages 
Price: 10.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
2 Morison, B. J. Beer and Skittles: a Little Maine Murder
Thorndike, ME Thorndike Press 1985 0896210944 / 9780896210943 Hardcover Good in Good dust jacket 
256 pages, cloth, DJ, ex-library with usual library markings otherwise very good. Cover design by Armen Kojoyian, cover photograph by Tim Loeb, book design by Abby Trudeau, and map by Kelly Russell Gordon. From the dust jacket: "In the tradition of Dorothy L. Sayers, Beer & Skittles combines a masterful clues-fairly-given mystery with comedy and social satire in a work that is both compelling and great fun". From Publishers Weekly: "Elizabeth Lamb Worthington, the precocious but proper 11-year-old sleuth in Champagne and a Gardener and Port and a Star Border, prevails again in this enchanting new adventure. It is summer in Northeast Harbor, Maine, as the "old money" families of Boston and Philadelphia spend their holiday in leisurely tea-and-gossip. Among them flit Elizabeth Lamb and her cousin, Persis, amusedly taking note of the genteel backbiting, the bombastic verses of irascible General Alison, the weird behavior of the houseman, Ludwig Vonn, as well as vague hints of blackmail and drug smuggling. When they find the body of an unidentified young man washed up on the beach, the two young women turn their talents to solving what they are sure was not an accidental death. Soon, more corpses turn up, and the amateur sleuths find that the case holds more intrigue and danger than they're up for. Eccentric but scintillating conversation and a full, lively portrait of families intertwined in an ongoing battle of wits, qualities reminiscent of Jane Austen make this mystery highly entertaining. " M69; Ex-Library; 256 pages 
Price: 15.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
3 Thayer, Lee The Mystery of the Thirteenth Floor
New York A. L. Burt Company 1919 Hardcover Good+ with no dust jacket 
[8], 306 pages, frontispiece, cloth, shelf wear, former owner's bookplate otherwise very good. From the Golden Age of Detection Wiki: "Emma Redington Lee Thayer (1874-1973) was an American artist who published sixty mystery novels beginning with The Mystery of the Thirteenth Floor (1919) and ending, at the age of ninety-two, with Dusty Death (1966). All but one feature the red-headed detective Peter Clancy and his valet Wiggar. Thayer was born in Pennsylvania and educated at Cooper Union and Pratt Institute, New York City. She married Henry W. Thayer in 1909. As an artist and illustrator, she had paintings displayed at Chicago World's Fair, and produced designs for book jackets. " 
Price: 40.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 


Questions, comments, or suggestions
Please write to milhist@fairpoint.net
Copyright©2017. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by ChrisLands.com

 

 

cookie