Military History Bookshop

Quick Search

Title
Author
Description
Keyword
 
 
 
 

Sociology

Sociology

Click on Title to view full description

 
1 ARDREY, ROBERT The social contract. A personal inquiry into the evolutionary sources of order and disorder.
New York Atheneum, 1970 Hard Cover 
Drawings by Berdine Ardrey. 448 pages, illustrations, cloth, dust jacket, very good. From the dj: For the past decade Robert Ardrey has been exploding a series of philosophical landmines. AFRICAN GENESIS (1961) introduced his new evolutionary approach to an understanding of men. Then came THE TERRITORIAL IMPERATIVE (1966) whose title is now a common phrase in our language. THE SOCIAL CONTRACT is the third in the series, and it denies that men are created equal. 
Price: 20.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
2 Bahlman, Dudley W. R. The Moral Revolution of 1688
Hamden, CT Archon Books 1968 0208004947 / 9780208004949 Hardcover Very Good in Good dust jacket 
X, 112 pages, cloth, DJ, very good. Unabridged and unaltered reprint of the 1957 Yale University Press edition. From the DJ: "A study of the societies for reformation of manners and the considerable role they played in English life in the years after the Glorious Revolution."; 112 pages 
Price: 20.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
3 BAILYN, BERNARD. The ordeal of Thomas Hutchinson.
Cambridge Harvard University Press, 1974 0674641604 / 9780674641600 Second Printing Hard Cover Good in Good dust jacket 
423 pages, 11 plates, chart, cloth, DJ, ex-library with usual library markings otherwise very good. A study of the last civilian royal governor of Massachusetts and the successful plot by Benjamin Franklin and others to destroy Hutchinson's career in 1773. From the DJ: "A study of the inner life and public career of the last civilian royal governor of Massachusetts, it is at the same time a dramatic account of the American Revolution from the viewpoint not of the winners, who became the Founding Fathers, but of the losers, the Loyalists. This ill-fated group of Americans were no loess patriotic and virtuous than those who opposed them, but their judgments differed and their lives and fortunes were destroyed by the Revolution."; Ex-Library 
Price: 12.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
4 BERNARD, JESSIE The sex game. (Communication between the sexes)
New York Atheneum, 1972 Soft Cover 
372 pages, wrappers, very good. From the back cover: As long as the work of the world was organized in a way that fostered a parallel kind of relationship between the sexes, a minimum amount of communication between the sexes was called for. Even sexual interaction could be managed without too much communication. Despite the remnants of this pattern, it appears to be on the way out. The conditions of modern life do not support it and the kind of women our times create do not like it. What we can legitimately look forward to is not the elimination of differences, or even of conflict, but a better appreciation of the nature of the game - in the technical sense rather than the psychiatric sense - the sexes are engaged in. 
Price: 20.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
5 BIERSTEDT, ROBERT The social order. Third edition.
New York Mcgraw-Hill Book Co. , 1970 Hard Cover 
563 pages, cloth, very good. With: 'Instructor's guide to accompany The Social Order.' (113 pages, wrappers). 
Price: 35.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
6 BIRNBAUM, NORMAN The crisis of industrial society.
New York Oxford University Press, 1969 Hard Cover 
185 pages, cloth, dust jacket, 1st edition, very good. 
Price: 25.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
7 BLUMSTEIN, PHILIP and SCHWARTZ, PEPPER American couples. Money. Work. Sex.
New York William Morrow 1983 0688037720 / 9780688037727 Hard Cover 
656 pages, diagrams, cloth, dj, very good. 
Price: 20.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
8 BLY, ROBERT The Sibling Society
Reading, MA Addison-Wesley Publishing Co. , 1996 0201406462 / 9780201406467 First Edition Hard Cover Very Good in Good dust jacket 
319 pages, cloth, dj, very good. 1st printing. From the dj: In The Sibling Society, Bly turns to stories as unexpected as Jack and the Beanstalk and the Hindu tale of Ganesha to illustrate and illuminate the troubled soul of our nation itself. What he shows us is a culture where adults remain children, and where children have no desire to become adults - a nation of squabbling siblings. Through his use of poetry and myth, Bly takes us beyond the sociological statistics and tired psychobabble to see our dilemma afresh. In this sibling culture that he descries, we tolerate no one above us and have no concern for anyone below us. Like sullen teenagers we live in our peer group, glancing side to side, rather than upward, for direction. We have brought down all forms of hierarchy because hierarchy is based on power, often abused. Yet with that leveling we have also destroyed any willingness to look up or down. Without that 'vertical gaze,' as Bly calls it, we have no longing for the good, no deep understanding of evil. We have no elders and no children; no past and no future. What we are left with is spiritual flatness. The talk show replaces family Instead of art we have the Internet. In the place of community we have the mall. 
Price: 20.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
9 BOGUSLAW, ROBERT and VICKERS, GEORGE R. Prologue to sociology.
Santa Monica, CA, Goodyear Publishing Co. 1977 0876206771 / 9780876206775 Soft Cover 
303 pages, wrappers, very good. 
Price: 20.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
10 BOLLENS, JOHN C. Editor Exploring the Metropolitan Community.
Berkeley, University of California Press, 1961 Hard Cover 
xviii,492p., diagrams, charts, tbls., cloth, dj, ex-library but vg. 
Price: 20.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
11 BROWN, J[AMES] LARRY and, PFIZER, H.F. Living Hungry in America
New York Macmillan Publishing Co. 1987 0025172905 / 9780025172906 First Edition Hard Cover Good in Good dust jacket 
Foreword by Victor W. Sidel, M.D. 212 pages, 4 plates, cloth, ex-library with usual library markings otherwise very good. 1st edition. From Publishers Weekly: Brown, a teacher at the Harvard School of Public Health, became head of a task force on hunger in 1982. He and his colleagues conducted a three-year inquiry into the existence of malnutrition in our affluent society. The result of their work is this first-person account by Brown, with additions by medical writer Pizer from other doctors' field notes. In the tradition of such landmark sociological tracts as those by Moynihan and Harrington, this report unearths disturbing facts and statistics, calling for nonpartisan action to lessen the gap between rich and poor, which is greater in the United States than in any other industrial country. Anecdotes abound of starving people's exposure to brutal treatment, the irony of going hungry amidst plenty, the undernutrition of the elderly, bureaucratic impediments to relief and the callousness of leaders (who have made such comments as, "People are in soup lines because the food is free"). This devastating material is a powerful plea for the eradication of the man-made disease of national hunger. 
Price: 20.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
12 BRUCKBERGER, R[AYMOND] L[EOPOLD] Image of America.
New York Viking Press, 1959 Hard Cover Good in Good dust jacket 
Translation of La République américaine. Translated from the French by C.G. Paulding and Virgilia Peterson. 277 pages, cloth, dj, ex-library with usual library markings otherwise very good. Third printing. From the dj: 'Either America is the hope of the world, or it is nothing. There re those who have begun to despair of the West. It is for them that I am writing.' Thus the author states his intention. The result is a book - in the tradition of Tocqueville and Bryce - in which we see ourselves through the sympathetic, critical eyes of a Frenchman who as Chaplin General of the Resistance has seen the life of action and as scholar, author and priest knows the life of the spirit. He lived for eight years in this country, thought deeply about it, and came to love and admire it. 
Price: 15.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
13 CHEIN, ISIDOR The science of behavior and the image of man.
New York Basic Books 1972 Hard Cover 
347 pages, cloth, dust jacket, very good. 
Price: 25.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
14 CHILCOTT, JOHN H., GREENBERG, NORMAN C. and, WILSON, HERBERT B. editors Readings in the socio-cultural foundations of education.
Belmont, CA, Wadworth Publishing Co. , 1968 Soft Cover 
459 pages, diagrams, wrappers, very good. 
Price: 20.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
15 CLAUSEN, JOHN A. Editor Socialization and society.
Boston Little, Brown & Co. , 1968 Hard Cover Very Good with no dust jacket 
Contributing authors: John A. Clausen, University of California, Berkeley, Orville G. Brim, Jr., Russell Sage Foundation, Alex Inkeles, Harvard University, Ronald Lippitt, University of Michigan, Eleanor E. Maccoby, Stanford University, M. Brewster Smith, University of California, Berkeley. 400 pages, cloth, very good. 
Price: 20.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
16 COLFAX, J. DAVID and, ROACH, JACK L. Editors Radical sociology.
New York Basic Books, Inc. , 1971 046506826X / 9780465068265 First Edition Hard Cover Very Good in Good dust jacket 
492 pages, cloth, dust jacket, 1st edition, very good. 
Price: 25.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
17 COOPER, COURTNEY RYLEY Designs in scarlet.
Boston Little, Brown & Co. , 1939 Hard Cover 
372 pages, cloth, 1st edition, very good. Records the results of a year's investigation of the prostitution problem in America. Based on exhaustive research with the cooperation of the FBI and other national and local agencies. 
Price: 50.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
18 CRESSEY, DONALD R(AY) and, WARD, DAVID A. Delinquency, crime and social process.
New York Harper & Row, 1969 Hard Cover 
1151 pages, cloth, dust jacket, 1st edition, very good. 
Price: 35.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
19 deMAUSE, LLOYD editor The history of childhood.
New York Psychohistory Press 1974 0914434004 / 9780914434009 Hard Cover 
450 pages, cloth, frayed dust jacket otherwise very good. 
Price: 35.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
20 DEXTER, LEWIS ANTHONY and WHITE, DAVID MANNING editors People, Society, and Mass Communications.
New York The Free Press, 1964 Hardcover Very Good in Good dust jacket 
593 pages, cloth, dust jacket, very good. From the DJ: "A major examination of mass communications stressing how communicators and audiences are related to each other. It will appeal to anyone interested in the way that recent social science thinking has clarified our understanding of radio, television, newspapers, magazines, and propaganda materials. It also illuminates the social aspects of the mass media and in doing so helps to interpret the nature of modern societies." 
Price: 20.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
  1  2 3 4 5  NEXT >  


Questions, comments, or suggestions
Please write to milhist@fairpoint.net
Copyright©2017. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by ChrisLands.com

 

 

cookie